For Reasons Unknown by Michael Wood

For Reasons Unknown

 5/5 stars.

This is the first book I’ve read by Michael Wood and it definitely won’t be the last. But it didn’t start out that way.

Inwardly I groaned when I discovered yet another lead detective recovering from a personal trauma. But unlike the others, Matilda Darke’s trauma wasn’t overplayed or thrust at me at every opportunity. The trauma lurked in the background, revealed a little at a time, allowing the story to unfold without distraction.

And what a terrific story it was, populated by characters I could engage with and root for as they struggled to make sense of a brutal unsolved murder from the past and another from the present. The intrigue and suspense deepened as the plot twisted and turned, testing DCI Darke as she doubted her ability to solve the crime.

And her rival for her old job didn’t make life any easier, adding to the struggle and conflict.

This is a well-written, skilfully plotted story that grabbed me early and didn’t let go till the final, gripping climax.

I would heartily recommend this novel and immediately bought the second in the series.

5/5 stars.

Description

Two murders. Twenty years. Now the killer is back for more…

A darkly compelling debut crime novel. The start of a brilliant series, perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, Val McDermid, and James Oswald.

DCI Matilda Darke has returned to work after a nine month absence. A shadow of her former self, she is tasked with re-opening a cold case: the terrifyingly brutal murders of Miranda and Stefan Harkness. The only witness was their eleven-year-old son, Jonathan, who was too deeply traumatized to speak a word.

Then a dead body is discovered, and the investigation leads back to Matilda’s case. Suddenly the past and present converge, and it seems a killer may have come back for more…

For Reasons Unknown

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: