Buried Lies by Chris Collett


Buried Lies by Chris Collett

4th May 2021.

This is the sixth book in the Tom Mariner series and follows on from events in the previous novel. Like any series, it’s always best to read from the first to get a better understanding of the characters and dynamics of the backstory.

On this occasion, Tom needs time to himself to come to terms with the death of a former lover. He hopes a walking holiday in the Welsh mountains for a couple of weeks will help him ‘find himself’. He revisits an area he once went to twenty years ago and finds a few familiar faces, including an old flame.

But being crime fiction, you know this isn’t going to be a peaceful holiday.

The story ambles along until the murder. The pace picks up and leads to a somewhat abrupt ending. It’s a pleasant enough read, but it lacks the tension and urgency of previous books.


Detective Inspector Tom Mariner goes to the beautiful Welsh countryside to recover. But he finds himself caught up in a murder investigation . . . and he’s the prime suspect.

Grieving the death of his former lover, all Mariner wants is some peace and quiet. But his walking holiday is ruined by the discovery of a body in the woods.

The remote stone farmhouses of this beautiful valley hide many buried secrets.

As more bodies are discovered, can Mariner clear his name and avoid becoming the next victim?

Buried Lies by Chris Collett

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.